SITE DIRECTORY


This site directory outlines how to protect yourself from violent crime. Please contact us with suggestions for additional topics.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Predators learn how to hunt for prey while in crime college (prison), from their family or neighborhood heroes who’ve been paroled, from the news media and entertainment industry, and from their own devious minds. Here's how to outsmart them:

FAQs

Stranger Danger vs Stranger Safety
Internet Safety for Kids 10 things parents need to know.
Cyber Bullying: how to stop it.
Stop Bullying in school.
School Violence prevention.
Teen Abuse: how to escape teen dating abuse.
Cyber Stalking: how to stop it.
College Security: crime victims can teach you about campus safety.
Running Safety, Walking Safety, & Biking Safety: outdoor do's & don'ts.
Street Crime: safety tips for women
Purse Snatching: how to lose as little as possible.
Parking Lot Safety as well as parking garage.
Driving Safety Tips: survival strategies.
Apartment Security: how renters can keep safe.
Burglary Prevention: what you need to know about home defense.
Camping Safety & Hiking Safety.

PART 1 - AVOIDING DANGER: How to Stay Out of Harm's Way

Beginning with the home then progressing outward, Part 1 illuminates all violent threats to women and children.

HOME SECURITY
Home-Security-Overview
• Break-In when you're home or away - home-security-break-in
• Walk-In through an unlocked door home-security-walk-in
• Push-In when you answer the door - home-security-push-in
• Mug-In just outside your door - home-security-mug-in
• Scam-In: lies to get inside - home-security-scam-in
• Cracks in Security: variations of the above - home-security-cracks
• Apartment & College Dormitory Security - home-security-college
Apartment Security: how renters can keep safe FAQ.
Burglary Prevention: what burglars hope you don't know FAQ.
• Good Neighbors help protect you - home-security-neighbors
Home-Security-Recap & Resources

OUTDOOR SAFETY
Outdoor-Safety-Overview
Running Safety, Walking Safety, & Biking Safety FAQ.
Street Crime: safety tips for women FAQ.
Purse Snatching: how to lose as little as possible FAQ.
• Friendly Predators first get near - outdoor-safety-friendly-predators
• Force Predators' ambush zones - outdoor-safety-force-predators
• Predators' Favorite Targets - outdoor-safety-predators-favorite-targets
• Spotting Danger before it's too late - outdoor-safety-spotting-danger
• Facing Danger: your five options - outdoor-safety-facing-danger
• Rescuing a Victim Safely - outdoor-safety-rescuing
• Dog Attack: on you or a loved one - outdoor-safety-dog-attack
• Camping: human prey in isolated wilderness - travel-security-camping
Camping Safety & Hiking Safety FAQ.
• Pickpockets: stopping masterful thieves - outdoor-safety-pickpockets
Outdoor-Safety-Recap & Resources

CAR SECURITY
Car-Security-Overview
Parking Lot Safety as well as parking garage FAQ.
Driving Safety Tips: survival strategies FAQ.
• Avoiding Carjacking: being prepared - car-security-avoiding-cj
• Escaping Carjacking: the best strategies - car-security-escaping-cj
• Car Ambushes: traps and escapes - car-security-ambushes
• Road Rage: avoiding a lunatic - car-security-road-rage
Car-Security-Recap & Resources

TRAVEL SECURITY
Travel-Security-Overview
• Camping: human prey in isolated wilderness - travel-security-camping
Camping Safety & Hiking Safety FAQ.
• Hotels & Motels attract predators - travel-security-hotel
• Airline precautions and security - travel-security-airline
• Foreign travel: predators love travelers - travel-security-foreign
Travel-Security-Recap & Resources

CHILD SAFETY
Child-Safety-Overview
Internet Safety for Kids 10 things parents need to know FAQ.
Cyber Bullying: how to stop it FAQ.
Stop Bullying in school FAQ.
School Violence prevention.
• Molesters: the subtle warning signs - child-safety-molesters
• Safeguarding kids - child-safety-safeguarding
• Internet: the dangers & safeguards - child-safety-internet
• Outdoor child safety: staying out of harm’s way - child-safety-outdoors
• Kidnapping escape from a monster - child-safety-kidnap
Free-Range Kids vs Myth Busters
Stranger Danger vs Stranger Safety FAQ
Child-Safety-Recap & Resources

WOMEN'S SAFETY
Women-Safety-Overview
• Date Rape: warning signs and escaping - women-safety-date-rape
Date Rape Drugs: learn from victims how to stay safe
Cyber Stalking: how to stop it FAQ.
• Stalking Overview: women-safety-stalking
Stalker Warning Signs: how to nip it in the bud.
Protection Order: should you get one?
Stop a Stalker: the Top 10 Ways
• Domestic Violence: insights and escaping - women-safety-domestic
Battered Woman Syndrome
Teen Abuse: how to escape teen dating abuse.
College Security: all aspects of campus safety FAQ.
Women-Safety-Recap & Resources

WORKPLACE SAFETY
Workplace-Safety-Overview
• Workplace Risks & Remedies - workplace-safety-risks-remedies
• Resolving Conflicts - workplace-safety-resolving
• Bank & Store Robberies: minimizing risk - workplace-safety-robberies
• Real Estate Agent Safety - workplace-safety-real-estate
• Losing It: little things that escalate - workplace-safety-losing-it
Workplace-Safety-Recap & Resources

PART 2 – FACING DANGER: Options, Strategies, and Attitude

It’s better to know this and not need it, than to need it and not know it.

CRIMINAL MINDS
Criminal-Minds-Overview
• Wolf in Sheep's Clothing: friendly predators - criminal-minds-wolf
• Quick Tricks: how criminals deceive you - criminal-minds-quick-tricks
• Mind Games: how manipulators control you - criminal-minds-mind-games
• Intuition: your early-warning survival system - criminal-minds-intuition
• Predator Profiles - criminal-minds-predator-profiles
• Predatory Mind: how to beat evil - criminal-minds-predatory-mind
Criminal-Minds-Recap

VICTIM'S OPTIONS
Victims-Options-Overview of your five options:
• 1st - Posturing as a tough target - victims-options-posturing, or:
• 2nd - Fleeing, if possible - victims-options-fleeing, or:
• 3rd - Outsmarting verbally - victims-options-outsmarting, or:
• 4th - Surrendering - victims-options-surrendering, or:
• 5th - Fighting to escape. Stun & run - victims-options-fighting
Victims-Options-Recap

SURVIVAL OPTIONS
Survival-Options-Overview of life-or-death crises
• Shooting Rampage: seven options - survival-options-rampage
• Hostage Taking: how to survive - survival-options-hostage-taking
• Hostage Escape know-how - survival-options-hostage-survival
• Kidnapping Prevention - survival-options-kidnapping
• Kidnapping Escape - survival-options-kidnap-survival
• SOS Distress Signals for summoning help - survival-options-sos
• Surviving Worst-Case scenarios - survival-options-worst
Survival-Options-Recap

STRESS CONTROL

Stress-Control-Overview: choosing courage to survive a crisis
• Fear Itself: fear, panic, and courage - stress-control-fear-itself
• Willpower is hope and will - stress-control-willpower
• Punched: overcoming pain - stress-control-punched
• Wounded: rising above injury - stress-control-wounded
• Courage is choosing to survive - stress-control-courage
• Acting is role-playing for real - stress-control-acting
• Optimal Mindset to fight for your life - stress-control-optimal-mindset
Stress-Control-Recap

PART 3 – ESCAPING DANGER: When It's Do or Die

FIGHTING OPTIONS
Fighting-Options-Overview
• Myths and misconceptions - fighting-options-myths
• When to Fight - fighting-options-when-to-fight
• Sucker Punch: a surprise attack - fighting-options-sucker-punch
• Fighting Strategies - fighting-options-strategies
• Weapons (improvised) - fighting-options-weapons
• Choosing a Self Defense Class - rape-escape-options-defense-class
Verbal Self Defense to escape from danger.
Self Defense Techniques

RAPE ESCAPE OPTIONS

Rape-Escape-Options-Overview
• Rapist Types - rape-escape-options-rapist-types
• Rape Prevention - rape-escape-options-prevention
• Ultimate Rape Prevention - rape-escape-options-ultimate
• Rape Survivors empowerment - rape-escape-options-survivors
• Choosing a Self Defense Class - rape-escape-options-defense-class
Rape-Escape-Options-Recap

PART 4 – SECURITY PRODUCTS

Security-Products-Overview
• Home Security Product Buying Guide - security-products-home-intro
• Safe Room - security-products-safe-room
• Door Reinforcement - security-products-door
Door Security Systems: Deadbolt Lock and Door Security Hardware.
Lock Bumping for the best deadbolt locks.
Peepholes - know who's knocking at your door before you open it.
Home Intercom System - stay safe when strangers choose your home.
Sliding Door Security Hardware and Home Window Security.
• Window Reinforcement - security-products-window
• Garage & Yard Reinforcement - security-products-garage
• Simple Home Electronics - security-products-simple-electronic
Outdoor Security Lighting keeps burglars away.
• Alarm Systems - security-products-alarms
DIY Home Security Systems protect your home with no monthly fees.
• Flaws in Electronic Security - security-products-flaws-electronics
• Apartment & Dormitory Security - security-products-apartment
Security Products - Personal Devices
Pepper Spray & where to buy pepper spray
Personal Security Alarm: a.k.a. noisemaker or screamer.
GPS Child Locator: a modern safety tool.
Senior Safety Products for home and outdoors.

PART 5 – LESSONS FROM VICTIMS

True Crimes: lessons from victims.
True Crime Stories: women’s safety lessons learned.
True Crime Library: teaches safety for women.
Crimes of Passion: safety tips for women.

PART 6 – COMMON SENSE vs NONSENSE

Myth Busters vs Dumb Crime Safety Tips
Urban Myths: debunking urban legends and folklore.
Myths and Urban Legends: the illusion of safe neighborhoods.
Free-Range Kids vs Myth Busters

PART 7 – RESOURCES

CRIME SURVIVORS
Crime-Survivors-Overview of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Parents of Murdered Children
Survivors of Homicide
Michigan Victim Alliance
Compassionate Friends
Rape Survivors
Crime-Survivors-Recap

Index/Sitemap
About Michael
• Why It's All Free Online - why-free-online
My Thanks To
Contact Us
Bibliography: recommended reading
Privacy Policy
Terms of Service
Disclosures and Disclaimers

PART 8 – OP ED ARTICLE BANK

OP ED ARTICLE BANK
The Media Whispers the Truth about the Petit Family Massacre
The murders in Cheshire CT is but one of many examples of how the news media often distorts the truth about crime.
The Kitty Genovese Syndrome & Yelling “Fire!”
Beware – Myths and Nonsense: Debunking a Flawed Crime Escape Scheme
Grip It & Rip It - The Ultimate Rape Prevention
With the utmost irony, a rapist's fragile tool of crime suddenly becomes his undoing – truly poetic justice.
Dog Attack Defense
Do you know how to deal with a vicious dog if ever you need to save yourself or a loved one?

PART 9 – NEWSLETTERS

NEWSLETTER SIGNUP
Child Kidnapping: dangers lurking outdoors.
Panic Rooms: where to go in home invasions.
Home Safety Tips: what to do when your doorbell rings.
Emergency Button in a parking lot & at home.
911 Calls can save you if you do it right.
Identity Theft: the Top 16 ways to prevent it.
Home Invasions: how to prevent them.
Child Predators: protecting kids outdoors.
Bystander Apathy: how to get help when you need it.
Primal Rage: how to avoid Crimes of Passion.
Rape Victims' Self-Blame: how to redirect it.
Jaycee Lee Dugard Kidnapping: how she could have escaped.
NEWSLETTER ARCHIVE


Crime-Safety-Security > Site Directory